Slideshow of photos from the Knowledge Economy Forum

KEN Awards 2012

Since 2005 at every annual Forum (initially called: EREF) presentation of good practice cases on knowledge economy performance have been part of the programme. With the new framework of KEN, an Award for the best contribution to knowledge society and economy has been launched, and the first Awards were presented at the 2011 KEN Forum on 7 June in Maribor, Slovenia.

The following four awards were presented on that occasion:

  1. Education: Korea – for the tertiary education system;
  2. R&D: Stuttgart Region – for successful private-public involvement in R&D;
  3. Innovation: Switzerland -  for the performance of the innovation system;
  4. Entrepreneurship: Buskerud - Norway – for the role of women in corporate management. 

The purpose of the Award is to acknowledge exceptional achievement of policy makers and performance of stakeholders in various fields of knowledge economy, with particular emphasis on human capital. The key criteria of selection are:  originality, effectiveness, and scope of impact of a certain policy, scheme or organisation, established with the purpose to contribute to knowledge economy developments in a country, a region, or a local community. It could also be an innovative strategy implemented very successfully in a private or public organisation.

Through broad publicity and dissemination of information on why and how these cases stand out at the global level, KEN wishes to raise the awareness of the knowledge economy potential existing everywhere, if the right conditions are created to release the creative strength of people and their institutions. The key factor is of course the competent, innovative and motivated team with critical mass of needed leadership qualities.

Contrary to the prevailing practice, the KEN Awards are not limited or linked neither to Network membership, nor does it imply any costs for the entrants or laureats.

In line with the conditions determined by the KEN BSC for the procedure of KEN Award 2012 – three categories of Awards were presented this year in Maribor:

I. KEN Awards for distinguished achievement in 4 domains:

  1. Education  – JAPAN (successful reform of tertiary education system)
  2. Research and Development:  TUBITAK, Turkey (contribution of public and private R&D funding  to economic growth)
  3. Innovation:  DENMARK  (successful and comprehensive innovation system)
  4. Entrepreneurship: U.S. Small Business Administration, USA   (support to SMEs and VC leveraging). 

II. KEN Award for media and NGOs was presented to the British Broadcasting Corporation, BBC.

This Award was given to BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation)  for its unique contribution to the worldwide promotion of knowledge in many domains, referring also to the 80th anniversary of BBC World (celebrated in 2012).

These Awards (under I and II) were decided on the Network’s own initiative by the BSC, upon the proposal of some members of the IAB. They were presented at the Award Ceremony, and their lessons summarised at the second plenary session of the KEN 2012 in the morning of 12 June 2012.

III. KEN Best Practice Awards for original and successful practice in any domain of knowledge society and economy development were presented at the Award Ceremony in the evening on 11 June, 2012 and were given to the following organisations:

  1. European Affairs Fund, AP Vojvodina (Serbia) is an example of good    practice in multicultural education.
  2. Knowledge Mobilisation Unit - York University (Canada) is an  example of good practice of a new scheme run by the University and involving all Triple Helix Partners.
  3. SEECEL – South East European Centre for Entrepreneurial Learning (Croatia)  is an  example of good practice in successful regional cooperation in training and education. 

The difference between these two Awards (under I and II), and the third category (under III) is in their scope and global relevance. facebook twitter Flickr YouTube